•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Merging issues at high power

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Mike Selz

Mike Selz

Ranger 4

• topic starter

Posted 28 July 2021 - 09:16 AM

I have a LUNT/APM 45 degree ED 100mm series bino I got a few months ago and absolutely adore them, they merge easily in my ES 82 degree 14mm , 9mm 68 degree svbony, and 24mm ES 68’s.

BUT…I wanted to test its power out and have a pair or Orion STRATUS 3.5mm (158 power).

suprisingly, in my south Florida summer humid skies both EPs show super clear images but I can’t seem to totally Merge both EPs, which is frustrating because I’m sure the view would be amazing . Why is it harder to merge at high power? I have that metal collimation tool that came with the binos just haven’t used it as yet. Hmmm, any ideas?

#2 drt3d

drt3d

Ranger 4

• Loc: Cleveland Ohio USA

Posted 28 July 2021 - 09:26 AM

It is harder to merge at high powers because even the smallest misalignment is greatly magnified.

I would first try to swap right and left eyepieces, if you have not done that already. For the same pair of eyepieces, I noticed that a specific setup R and L works better than the other way around. If this works for you, mark the eyepieces so you can always use it the same way (a good idea for any pair of eyepieces). Not sure why swapping sides would make a difference in theory, but it does in practice.

Have you tightened the eyepieces or are you put them in the tubes loose? If you have tightened them, try loosening them. Try playing with them, moving them around to see if merging improves. Don't be afraid to play with them. I doubt that the merging is related to the collimation of the binoculars. It is more related to the eyepieces and how they fit in place.

George

• oldmanrick likes this

#3 astrokeith

astrokeith

Apollo

• -----
  • Loc: Surrey, UK