•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Inserting Filter in Image Train

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 mikenaka

mikenaka

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 July 2021 - 06:16 PM

After searching for 30 minutes, I could not find exactly where a filter (like an L-Extreme, L-Enhance etc) needs to go. Does it screw into the reducer? T Adapter?

Setup is Celestron Reducer, T-Adapter, OAG, 21mm Spacer then camera. As you can probably tell, I'm new to all of this. I have been successful in getting images, but still have a lot to learn.  It's frustrating sometimes, but I'm hoping it all comes together soon.  Appreciate any info you can give me.  Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails

• 20210728_161203.jpg

#2 BrettD

BrettD

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 28 July 2021 - 06:44 PM

I would think the easiest would be to use a zwo filter draw instead of the 21mm spacer:

https://astronomy-im...lter-drawer-m42

assuming you have a 2" filter

• hemacp likes this

#3 BrettD

BrettD

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Melbourne, Australia

Posted 28 July 2021 - 06:58 PM

Even if your reducer has a  place to insert a filter (some do), you really wouldn't want to do that especially with an l-enhance or l-extreme, as it will take most of the light away from your guide camera.

When using an OAG the filter is much better between the OAG and camera 

• hemacp likes this

#4 mikenaka

mikenaka

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 July 2021 - 07:06 PM

Thanks!  Didn't even know something like that was available. I don't have any filters yet.  Wanted to figure this out before I made any purchases.

#5 arbit

arbit

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 28 July 2021 - 10:03 PM

As BrettD says, when using an OAG the filter should be between the OAG and camera.The ZWO filter drawer is 21mm and fits nicely.