•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Why are bottom mirrors not fixed?

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 LIVS

LIVS

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 29 July 2021 - 06:36 AM

Why are the bottom mirrors in a reflector telescope not fixed? Why do they need to be adjusted? I have seen homemade telescopes that have fixed bottom mirrors. 

#2 Supernova74

Supernova74

Mercury-Atlas

• -----
  • Loc: Epsom surrey near (London)

Posted 29 July 2021 - 06:52 AM

We’ll if the primary mirror was completely fixed in the cell etc and didn’t have any lateral movement at very least the scope wouldn’t be able to be collimated to the secondary mirror.im no expert in reflectors however I can imagine air flow for cooling also does play a major part.

#3 rob1986

rob1986

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 29 July 2021 - 07:03 AM

because they wont stay in position. materials deform over time, and they deform faster with greater forces acting upon them. the non fixed primary is essential to maintain collimation over time. nano-meters matter when it comes to 

#4 Sandy Swede

Sandy Swede

Viking 1

• Loc: Delaware beaches

Posted 29 July 2021 - 07:03 AM

If you are referring to a Schmidt Cassegrain telescope, focus is achieved by movement of the primary mirror which is located at the rear (there is a focusing knob on the rear of the scope).  Different with the Newtonian design. 

#5 kathyastro

kathyastro

Soyuz

• Loc: Nova Scotia

Posted 29 July 2021 - 07:06 AM

I understand why mirrors are not fixed: any piece of precision equipment needs to be adjustable to maintain its precision.  Given that, I wonder why refractor lenses are fixed.

• SteveV, Asbytec, ram812 and 3 others like this

#6 Supernova74

Supernova74

Mercury-Atlas

• -----

Posted 29 July 2021 - 07:17 AM