•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Remote desktop / camera issues

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 TheSheriff

TheSheriff

Mariner 2

• topic starter
  • Loc: Duck Football Country

Posted 01 August 2021 - 04:19 AM

Running windows 10 pro remote desktop on a computer I plan to use in a ROR build on my property this fall.  I have been connecting to it  for 4-5 months to install my AP software while I have been collecting some new equipment and waiting to build.  I have had zero issues connecting, moving files, etc.  I have been on wi-fi, but final install will be wired.

I just received a new imaging camera and wanted to test it, and my existing guide camera through the remote computer.  Both are ZWO... 2600MM and 290MM.  With my laptop on, I turn on the remote comp with both USB to the cameras already plugged in, OR, I turn on the remote, get a connection, and then plug in the cameras.  Either way, RDT looses connection within 30 seconds of the former example, and almost immediately with the latter.  This is BEFORE I even try to connect the cameras in software.

I realize there is a S@#% ton of information I'm not including, but I was wondering if there is a known thing, or simple thing I might be missing?

#2 sbradley07

sbradley07

Viking 1

• Moderators
  • Loc: Connecticut

Posted 01 August 2021 - 07:23 AM

Not a lot to go on here, so I'll take a stab that perhaps you are getting interference between the USB 3.0 device and 2.4ghz wifi.  Can you try the same test over ethernet or 5ghz wifi?

#3 RazvanUnderStars

RazvanUnderStars

Apollo

• Loc: Toronto, Canada

Posted 01 August 2021 - 12:11 PM