•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Another What is this?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 starcruzer

starcruzer

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Foothills of North Carolina

Posted 01 August 2021 - 11:57 AM

It was huge(based on the micro world). The medium collected was soaked moss on side of stream with tap(well water) added. Sample was infested with Rotifers among other microbes. I have a cell phone video of it but not able to load. Photo  was extracted from video. Movement seemed to be coming from 2 legs just right behind the head, looked like it was doing the dog paddle but legs was in sync(both moving same direction at same time) and quite fast. I am new to the micro world only had microscope like 3 months.  I know it is not a single or multi cell microorganism, many times bigger than a nematoid, just amazing what ya find. 

1_Moment.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

• Jim4321 likes this

#2 MisterDan

MisterDan

Viking 1

• Loc: Colorado

Posted 01 August 2021 - 12:17 PM

My guess is a midge larva of some sort.  (There are countless different species.)

Here's another image of a similar larva:

http://dept.harperco...idge_Larvae.JPG

Your image appears to correspond more with the "tail" (rear) end of the larva.  Insect larva heads are fairly distinctive and almost always as large or larger than adjacent segments, so your image likely shows the rear of the larva.

Very cool images.

Thanks for sharing

Dan

#3 Stevegeo

Stevegeo

Apollo

• Loc: Otisco lake. Marietta NY 13110

Posted 01 August 2021 - 12:19 PM

Dont eat it..  best advice. And if it's in the water. Drink it... .

#4 MisterDan

MisterDan

Viking 1

Posted 01 August 2021 - 12:38 PM