•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Having trouble lining up rings of Saturn in post processing

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 NightSkyD

NightSkyD

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: North Houston, Texas

Posted 02 August 2021 - 10:38 PM

Well I got lucky last night and early morning today. I had a window of opportunity for about four hours with clear skies believe it or not (skies have been terrible the last couple of months) to image Saturn at opposition, but it was still slightly hazy and humid near Houston, TX. So I think the below average seeing conditions may be the issue I’m having. I processed one of the AVI files and I’m having trouble with lining up the rings of Saturn. I’m guessing this is due to poor seeing conditions but since I’m new to AP maybe others can chime in on what I did wrong. I first processed the file in PIPP then in Autostakkert and finally in Registax 6. I even added some additional larger AP points in Autostakkert along the rings and that didn’t seem to help. Here is what the result was:

Attached File  A1009FAC-481A-48AA-A5C4-2F20A685B34B.tiff   10.79KB   64 downloads

#2 Kokatha man

Kokatha man

Hubble

• Loc: "cooker-ta man" downunda...

Posted 03 August 2021 - 09:57 PM

Ok - you've got my attention! grin.gif

Post as suggested in Frank's thread - I cannot open this even though it says it's a tif...P/shop can't identify it for me.

I posted this thread particularly for people wanting a handle on how to arrange the MAPs in AS!3 recently: https://www.cloudyni...pot-animation/ 

Look down the page to see those AP suggestions - if you're having trouble getting a clear. clean Cassini Division try the MAPs on the ring as per the images I posted there - you don't want large ones for that btw & it may not work, but it does sometimes...it's usually a seeing situation.