•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

6" Mak or Classical Cassegrain?

Beginner Cassegrain Maksutov
  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Maks343

Maks343

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Nebraska

Posted 10 August 2021 - 12:42 PM

I am new to the hobby and trying to decide on what scope to go with.  I had narrowed down to either the Skymax 127 or 150, but then I came across the AT6CC and the turmoil reignited.  Unfortunately, none of these options are in stock anywhere so I still have time to do some research.

My budget is probably in the $1000-$1200 range, to include the Celestron CG4 mount I'm considering.  I plan to use the scope visually for planets/moon/sun and splitting binary/multi systems.  And I live under light-polluted suburban skies, so portability is one factor in looking at the Mak/CC platform.

I have read thru a number of the postings here and find that the discussion inevitably gets way more technical and advanced than my caveman understanding.  So I guess what I'm looking for is some input/advice on which optical system would be better suited to a) my circumstances and purpose, and 2) my lack of astronomical sophistication.  Or are the Mak and CC similar enough as to make it a moot issue?  Is there a better 6" Mak to consider?

I should add that I have no gear (mounts, EPs, diagonal, etc.) currently, so this would be a new start.  I'm not asking anyone to make my decision for me, just to help me cut thru the minutia to see the big, simple picture.

Thanks in advance.

• Jaimo! likes this

#2 RajG

RajG

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: NJ

Posted 10 August 2021 - 01:24 PM

Looks like Orion has the 6in CC in stock. There is a long discussion here:

https://www.cloudyni...cal-cassegrain/