•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Grounding rod at the observatory?

• Please log in to reply
68 replies to this topic

#1 Taylor

Taylor

Apollo

• topic starter
  • Loc: Owasso, OK

Posted 04 September 2021 - 08:33 PM

Backstory: I have 2 separate contractors bidding on running electrical to my ROR observatory. Keep in mind both are licensed/bonded/insured. 

Contractor A stated this in an email in response to my inquiry about a grounding rod "No, you won’t need a grounding rod because Ron is only running individual circuits out there (enough for you to run all your stuff)". 

Contractor B stated yes, he is only running one set of wire to the building, will install a 4 circuit break panel, and ground it out there. 

Now I'm not an electrician, but Contractor A seems a little crazy to me. 

We get lightning here near Tulsa, OK with our crazy spring thunderstorms. A house less than 1/2 mile away from me burned down due to lightning hitting the peak of the roof and starting a fire in the attic. 

By my thinking, if lightning strikes the observatory (odds are low, due to it being much shorter than surrounding trees and huge houses, but the odds aren't zero) I would much rather the electricity travel back to earth through a ground rod at the building than taking the path back to my house, through the panel, and down the rod at the house. 

Thoughts? 

Also, do you guys get your local building dept to do inspections? Technically I'm not required to as the building is a "portable" building and is less than 100 square feet, and the electrical only needs to be inspected on something that would be included in the value of the property if its sold. 

#2 Jim45157

Jim45157

Explorer 1

Posted 04 September 2021 - 09:08 PM

but remember its grounded at the main panel to start with  thats why a is saying no ground rod 

• SkipW likes this