•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Time for a second edition of Burnham's Celestial Handbook?

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Doraemon

Doraemon

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 06 September 2021 - 01:51 PM

I am relatively newbie and discovered this awesome book. I also read about the author.  I am wondering if some of the people here at CN could work on a new edition of the Burnham's Celestial Handbook, to keep his work alive.  I work in the medical field, and it is usual that great classic books in medicine can be started in the past by an authority in the field, e.g., Harrison's Internal Medicine, or Rosai & Ackerman Surgical pathology, both textbooks that are now continued in new editions by new authors keeping the original styles. 

I think that Burnham's second edition could be updated with new astronomical knowledge, tables and coordinates can be also updated, new images could be added, etc.  I don't know who could work in this project, but I know that many of the people in this forum have the knowledge to work on a second edition of Burnham's celestial handbook, like Bill Paolini, just to cite one name.

• Daniel Mounsey, turtle86 and AndyHengst like this

#2 DHEB

DHEB

Apollo

• Loc: Sweden

Posted 06 September 2021 - 02:00 PM

This has been discussed before here in CN. I do not recall the details, those can be found searching older posts, but I believe the broad consensus was that it is better to enjoy BCH as it is and look for more up to date information elsewhere.
  • turtle86, AndyHengst, gene 4181 and 4 others like this

#3 bsturges

bsturges

Lift Off

• Loc: Walnut Grove, Missouri

Posted 06 September 2021 - 02:52 PM