•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

(Help?) - found Tasco 7te-5 (?) disassembled. Can beginner fix?

Beginner Classic DIY Equipment Refractor
  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 reverse_syzygy

reverse_syzygy

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Posted 08 September 2021 - 12:19 PM

tl;dr:  Is this a no brainer for $40?

EDIT: main objective, too hazy?  https://i.imgur.com/yVWlvwC.jpg

Beginner here, and I need some helpful advice.

I found a local person selling a "telescope," with just a picture of the mount and box (no OTA), asking $40.

https://i.imgur.com/fgc6X2X.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/WuYhaJh.jpg

I am trying to do basic research, most of which leads me back here to old CN threads.

I assume that this is a Tasco 7te-5, which seems to have a good reputation amongst you "classic" folks.

I asked the seller for photos of what's inside:

https://i.imgur.com/7LQeREM.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/vutoQPw.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/xO3gHPN.jpg

https://i.imgur.com/elCfcu9.jpg

I'm completely ignorant of refractor construction, and the disassembly of the OTA is concerning.

The whole OTA looks to be in three parts.  Is that a problem, or do they just screw back together??

Does this look relatively complete?  Finderscope is there.   I see a couple of the volcano top EPs, the diagonal prism, Barlow.  Is the erecting prism attached to the focusing tube? (perhaps the 20mm is there as well?)   Sun projection apparatus, etc.?

Couple paint chips here and there, otherwise looks pretty clean.

If I can ask the seller for any other info/photos, what should I get?  Photo of the serial-info badge? More?

If I can go check it out in person, what can I do for a quick inspection?  Just check the glass for issues and hope for the best later on?

_