findIPAddresses Looking for an astrophotography camera - Equipment - Cloudy Nights

•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Looking for an astrophotography camera

Astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 emesine

emesine

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 September 2021 - 07:49 PM

Hi. 

I'm a home schooled sophomore and have been trying astrophotography for almost a year now.  I started taking pictures of the moon using a phone mount and It took some pretty good high magnification pictures even through a 4 mm lens.  That was on the Celestron nextstar 130slt.  Next I tried taking a long exposure of the Orion nebula using an annoying app.  There wasn't much to the raw photograph but I pulled out a little bit of the cloud using the photo editor on my laptop.  Now I'm using the Celestron nextstar 8se and jamming an Olimpus tough camera into the phone mount. Last spring I got a little more out of Orion but I can't get any more than about five seconds of exposure on the camera so it barely picks up anything on other nebulae I've tried.  I'm interested to know what type of camera and corresponding accessories would work well, hopefully for planetary, lunar, and deep sky photography.  Don't know exactly how much a beginner system generally goes for, but hopefully under $500.

Thanks.

Attached Thumbnails

• orion cell .jpg
  • orion 2.JPG
  • cell phone moon.jpg
  • resuced moon.JPG

• ChrisWhite, Sacred Heart and teashea like this

#2 bobzeq25

bobzeq25

ISS

Posted 14 September 2021 - 09:10 PM

This business is, unfortunately, expensive.  Under $500 is tough.

The best shot is an old Canon, like a T3i.  They can do a decent job on a variety of subjects, and meet your budget.  People have made lovely images with them.