•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Father & son - complete beginners - first telescope buy

Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
67 replies to this topic

#1 boxerdog

boxerdog

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Romania

Posted 16 September 2021 - 11:38 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm looking for advice on a first purchase and after quite a few nights of solo research I do need some advices from the community.

So here's the deal - I have an 8year old who seems to really passionate about astronomy, we're already looking at the sky almost every evening for weeks now and I'm thinking of buying a telescope.
I've narrowed it down in my mind (and budget) to either a Skywatcher 102/500 on Stardiscovery mount or a Skywatcher 120/600 on a AZ3.

We'll be observing from our yard in the city center (Bortle 8, very sad I know) about 75% of the time, from somewhere near the beach/seaside (Bortle 3/4 as I see on the map) about 25% of the time and maybe some dark places in a few rare occasions. Considering we'll have sand around quite a few of the times and also as I would prefer in the beginning to avoid collimation, plus also due to size constaints I excluded the newtonian options. Then, considering the little guy is more passionate about constellations, star clusters and nebulas I've kind of excluded a Mak version - leading to the two refractor options above, for which I see some pros&cons

Skywatcher 102/500 on Stardiscovery mount - about 500 euros

- the go-to seems great for kids, gaining time and also for a beginner like me
- on the same mount I could also add later a Mak127 I guess, for observing planets in more details if we'll be into that
- the mount is however limited, that's about the biggest telescope size you can put on it and it's alt-az

Skywatcher 120/600 on a AZ3 - about 420euros