•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Need a little help! Super new!

• Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Linked-In-The-Stars

Linked-In-The-Stars

Explorer 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Elkhorn, WI

Posted 18 September 2021 - 02:22 PM

Hi All,

I am really new to all this but I have a question and I’m not sure where to look for the answer! I am looking at for my first imaging telescope, the WO Z61, I have a Canon Rebel T5, I need the t-mount and adapter, but how am I sure which thread size of a T-mount I need?? I have looked but seems there is a 42mm and 48mm size thread. Idk which one I will need and don’t want to order the wrong one. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Also, to touch on this, should I invest in the dedicated field flattener for this scope? Right now I’m only using my camera and Skywatcher pro and I do get really good data from even single shots so I wanted to step it up another level and see what I can do with these upgrades. Lmk your thoughts/opinions and advice you may have!! Thanks and CS!!

Edited by Linked-In-The-Stars, 18 September 2021 - 02:23 PM.

#2 Oort Cloud

Oort Cloud

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: New Jersey, USA

Posted 18 September 2021 - 04:08 PM

A refractor will need a dedicated field flattener, or flattener/reducer designed to use with that particular scope. The threads would need to match that. Due to the very wide field of such a small scope, I would advice against using a reducer.

The manufacturer will often say what flattener is to be used. For example, William Optics makes the Flat73r that I have for my Zenithstar 73, but there is also a 1:1 flattener (no reduction) that they say can be used as well. There will often be others that can work, as long as they are meant for scopes of similar size & focal ratio, but easist is to go with the recommended ones.