•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

WO Z61 & flattener with Canon extender?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 cloudyeverynight

cloudyeverynight

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: NJ USA

Posted 19 September 2021 - 12:56 AM

I will be using the z61 primarily for deep sky AP. I’m just a beginner at the very beginning of this journey… Anyway, I’m also using the WO 61A flattener and have taken my first few test shots. Everything looks pretty good so far. Now I’m just waiting for the next clear moonless night. Since the moon is almost full right now I was wondering what the best way might be to increase magnification for imaging the moon and planets for the time being. My camera is a Canon EOS R with a WO RF t-ring. Could it be as simple as just attaching one of the canon RF extenders between the t-ring and the camera? Just need some input before I pull the trigger on an extender. As an option, I might just rent one first…

Edited by cloudyeverynight, 19 September 2021 - 01:00 AM.

#2 dhkaiser

dhkaiser

Apollo

Posted 19 September 2021 - 05:57 AM

Interesting idea.  Not sure why it would not work.  The extenders do cause a loss of F stop.  May not need the flattener with a extender.  Will follow this thread with interest.

Edited by dhkaiser, 19 September 2021 - 05:59 AM.

#3 cloudyeverynight

cloudyeverynight

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 September 2021 - 06:32 AM

Interesting idea.  Not sure why it would not work.  The extenders do cause a loss of F stop.  May not need the flattener with a extender.  Will follow this thread with interest.

Yeah, I'm guessing my main issue would be where the focal plane ends up. The field flattener is adjustable though and currently have it set to the 12.9mm mark as per instructions on the Williams Optics website. Hopefully someone could shed some light.