•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Optolong L-Pro effective as Luminance filter?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 oneredpanther

oneredpanther

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 September 2021 - 11:25 AM

Quick question: is the L-Pro an effective solution as a luminance filter? Particularly when shooting broadband targets. 

I've read that my naked mono sensor might suffer from UV/IR blooming when used in a pure luminance scenario; so I'm presuming that the gentle L-Pro might be the best solution for pin-sharp stars. 

Any experience?

#2 KungFood

KungFood

Mariner 2

• -----
  • Loc: Dallas, Tx

Posted 20 September 2021 - 11:33 AM

I have no direct experience in this, but I would assume that a UV/IR cut clear filter would be the best choice for Lum data.

#3 klaussius

klaussius

Apollo

• Loc: Buenos Aires

Posted 20 September 2021 - 11:41 AM

If all you want is to control star bloat, an UV/IR cut is much cheaper and quite effective.

If you want to reduce a bit of light pollution, I'd say the L-pro should work fine. Note that's "a bit" of light pollution, the L-pro is not very strong.

From the data I've seen, the L-pro and similar filters do cut UV/IR to some extent, but not all copies have a hard cut like a UV/IR would. I've seen data suggesting there's some IR pass on the far IR range. So they're not perfect in this regard, just "adequate".