•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Getting Ready to Jump In and Need Advice, Please!

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 geophiz

geophiz

Lift Off

• topic starter

Posted 20 September 2021 - 05:46 PM

I'm new to AP and haven't bought a single piece of hardware yet, but have a good idea what it will be. I also realize that's just the start and processing is going to be at least as challenging and important as acquisition. Processing is where I feel like Chris Farley's skit on Saturday Night Live and would greatly appreciate your help and insights.

I plan on initially using Astro Pixel Processor, then graduating to PI down the road as my understanding and skill progresses (1-2 years).

I also plan on purchasing the ASI 2600MM due to my Bortle 7-8 skies (narrowband filter) as a "buy once..." approach to utilize the latest generation chip. Control/acquisition will be through an Air Pro to keep it as simple to begin with and allow the possibility to step up to a micro-PC later.

Here's the rub.

After reading posts regarding the 2600 and it's ability to create substantial file sizes when processing, I'm getting concerned that my current laptop is not up to the task using APP, let alone PI

- Surface Pro 6, i7 8650 cpu @ 1.9 ghz; 16 GB RAM and 1 TB HD.

Am I correct and if so, what do hardware do you recommend? Do you build or buy off the shelf?

I'm open to a workstation if that's necessary, as I also see builds here that have 12 core Ryzen chips, 128 GB RAM(!), etc which began my concern that I'll be bogged down or locked-up with my current laptop.

Having access through CN to this collective experience and knowledge base is awesome, and I would appreciate and thank you for taking the time to provide guidance to me.

#2 D_talley

D_talley

Skylab

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 20 September 2021 - 06:07 PM