•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Big Bend Trip / Astronmy Etiquette

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 mlh25

mlh25

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Chattanooga Tn.

Posted 21 September 2021 - 08:45 AM

I am headed to Big Bend TX next week to see the milky way for my 40th birthday bucket list. We were planning on going to Bozeman but Big Bend is a much shorter flight. Anyhow I am extremely new to astronomy and the community. Would it be considered rude to walk up to someone and talk to them about what they are doing while they are using their telescope? Most my other hobbies people seem eager to share knowledge, but I am not sure if that applies the same when your approaching someone in a dark parking lot or whatever. Id love to ask questions and learn but I don't want to burden anyone.

As far as my trip goes, we are flying so I cant take my Dob. But I have some hunting binoculars and one of those cheap galileoscopes. By my main goal is to just naked eye the Milky Way.

• Szumi likes this

#2 csa/montana

csa/montana

Den Mama & Gold Star Award Winner

• Moderators
  • Loc: montana

Posted 21 September 2021 - 09:01 AM

That's a difficult question to answer.  Many would be more than happy to share "looks" and knowledge while they are viewing; while others may not want the interruption.  I guess you would just have to approach with caution, and don't be offended if they don't wish to talk while they are viewing, imaging, etc.

• wrvond and ram812 like this

#3 Stellar1

Stellar1

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Juuuust outside Toronto

Posted 21 September 2021 - 09:03 AM