•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Beginners Advice for Astrophotography - 15 Suggestions

Astrophotography Beginner Celestron DSLR Imaging Polar Alignment Software
  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#1 Tbear1

Tbear1

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 September 2021 - 05:15 PM

Nine months ago I decided to go into astrophotography as a hobby. Thanks to forums like this and others I have learned so very, very much. I’m still learning, but I feel compelled to ‘give back ‘ to the community, in particular beginners so that they might save countless hours of frustration and confusion as they get into this hobby. It incredibly rewarding but at the same time can be very frustrating.

The opinions I express are my own; I don’t represent any company or entity. Perhaps there are other opinions and I’m fine with that. These are just mine. The following sort of bares my soul with stupid and embarrassing mistakes but if it helps some folks new to the hobby, its worth it to me.

I wanted to photograph deep space objects but also be able to photograph the planets. Perhaps against the advice of some, and after considerable research, I jumped right in buying a Celestron 9.25 inch CST with a CGEM ii mount. I almost made the mistake ( for me ) of buying an alt/az mount with idea of getting a wedge. The more I read about it, the more I decided to get an equatorial mount which is preferred for deep space photography. Fortunately, my original order which was alt/az was back ordered and I was able to change my order to a CGEM II mount which is what I have.

Suggestion 1- Get an equatorial mount if you want to do deep space photography. You need it.