•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Has anyone used PRISM to run an AP 1100 GTO from a PC?

• Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 HasAnyoneSeenMyNebula

HasAnyoneSeenMyNebula

Ranger 4

• topic starter

Posted 21 September 2021 - 08:03 PM

Hello All,

I am starting down the rabbit hole of controlling my AP 1100 GTO with encoders from my PC. I am completely new to this process and have been using the mount keypad up until now (8-10 sessions) with some success. I have downloaded the following off the AP support website:

FTDI Driver for USB on GTOCP4 and GTOCP5 .... PC version and the mount has a CP4

JAVA for Utilities and Keypad V5 Download

ASCOM V2 Driver & Platform....downloaded both

I have not downloaed the CP4 update as of yet but will.

I am planning to connect via ethernet from PC to CP4

I had downloaded PRISM Pro (which is ASCOM compliant) from OPT (sigh) ... I was getting various error messages including Windows Vista error message (I use Windows 10) so I uninstalled it and contacted Hyperion today to download directly from them...awaiting reply. I have yet to learn the platform, I did not have a mount to use PRISM with until 2 weeks ago.

I'm assuming that with all of the drivers above downloaded and a fresh copy of PRISM downloaded, I will be able to find and link to my mount somehow from inside PRISM and then it will all magically work together.

Other than for the cliff-like learning curve does this all seem correct? I'm just trying to get a general understanding of how the process is supposed to work. If this is the hard way to do it I'd love to hear the easy way.

Thank you in advance

#2 WadeH237

WadeH237

Cosmos

• Loc: Ellensburg, WA

Posted 22 September 2021 - 07:58 AM