•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Are there any disadvantages with wide-angle AFOV eyepieces?

Eyepieces Maksutov Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Vatsumok

Vatsumok

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 21 September 2021 - 09:13 PM

Hi all,

I am new to the hobby and looking to build out a 2 or 3 eyepiece collection for my Maksutov scope.  (More equipment details and intended use details are at the bottom of the post).

I have noticed that eyepieces come in a wide range of AFOV angles from 40' in entry-level zooms to 110' super wide.  And based on my reading, it seems like wide AFOV eyepieces show more context at a given magnification and provide an immersive space-walk like experience. 

It seems too good to be true, so I wanted to ask:

1. Are there any downsides to wide AFOV eyepieces (besides cost / weight)? 
  2. Does stretching the view over a wider AFOV make the view dimmer compared to a narrow AFOV piece?
  3. How does a focal reducer / barlow affect AFOV and brightness / contrast?
  4. Wide AFOV eyepieces are expensive.  Should I get one high-end eyepiece and use it with a barlow + focal reducer to have 3 usable magnifications?  Or are there better strategies for covering a range of magnifications?

Scope details:

I am using an Orion Maksutov scope with 127mm aperture, 1540mm focal length (f/12.1). 1.25" Focuser.  No electronics.

Intended use:

• I use my scope to see the moon, Jupiter, and Saturn from home since they are not affected much by light pollution and are visible on most nights.
  • I hope to take my scope along on camping trips and start exploring deep space objects from national parks and dark sites.

Thank you!

• Cali likes this

#2 Echolight

Echolight

Gemini

• Loc: Texas

Posted 21 September 2021 - 09:23 PM

They cost more. They weigh more.