•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Needed: Help choosing scope

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 NSObserver

NSObserver

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 September 2021 - 01:14 PM

Hi all,

I am in a position to be replacing my LX200gps with a new mount (Losmandy GM811) and will be changing from a SCT to a refractor. I will be primarily imaging in a Boortle 4-5 area. I have been imaging (LRGB) with the LX200 for about 10 years using a QSI683 and LX2 OAG. My intent is to continue using the QSI (although it may be getting somewhat old and possibly in need of replacement, but that's another topic). The 3 contenders I've thought of are

1) Stellarvue 102T

2) Tele Vue NP101is

3) Takahashi 100 mm Fluorite APO

I would like ideas of how to make an apples to apples comparison (ie, an objective means to make a choice) as well as real life experiences with any of the scopes. Are there any strengths/weaknesses or "gotchas" I need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance for all input and help.

Ken

#2 Jim Waters

Jim Waters

Fly Me to the Moon

• Loc: Phoenix, AZ USA

Posted 22 September 2021 - 01:40 PM

Get the Stellarvue 102T.  This scope with the SV FR/FF would be more versatile than the Tele Vue at f/5.4.

IMHO Takahashi are over priced.

• Space_Race_T.J. likes this

#3 NSObserver

NSObserver

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 24 September 2021 - 04:29 PM

Thanks, Jim. Just what I wanted to know.

Ken

#4 dan_1984

dan_1984

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Europe

Posted 24 September 2021 - 04:43 PM

Hi all,