•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Ratio between guidescope and main telescope resolution

Astrophotography Beginner Equipment Imaging Meade Accessories
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 dellavolpe

dellavolpe

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 September 2021 - 03:29 PM

Hello everyone; first of all I would like that I am a beginner in both astronomy and astrophotography, so possibly some of my questions may appear even meaningless or obvious.
I watched a video today on choosing a Guidescope that suits the focal length of the main telescope. In this video, the author uses the astronomy tools website to determine the resolution (in square inches per pixel) of both the main telescope and Guidescope and calculates a ratio between them, mentioning that the result should "should not exceed 5x". Based on this video and my search for a Guidescope to buy I ask the following questions:
0) I failed to mention my equipment: 10" Meade LX200GPS Telescope (FL = 2500mm, ap. = 254mm, f/10); ZWO ASI462MC planetary camera; ASI294MC-PRO camera; ZWO ASI120MC-S guide camera, f/6.3 focal reducers ef/3.3. Meade resolution with the ASI294: 0.38"x0.38" per pixel; 1.14"x1.14" per pixel (f/3.3 reducer); 0.6"x0.6" per pixel (f/6.3 reducer).
Question 1: What is the considered "ideal" ratio (if any) between the resolution of the main telescope and the Guidescope?
Question 2: Due to FL, would it be correct to use OAG?