•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Advanced Photographer New to Astrophotography

Astrophotography Beginner Equipment
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 UP4014Fan

UP4014Fan

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 September 2021 - 08:58 PM

Before I start, I will apologize for posting something that has likely been asked a thousand times before.  I have done research here and elsewhere, but I am getting conflicting advice/information.

As background, I've been a serious amateur photographer for 50 years.  Last summer, during the lockdown, I finally started learning how to do astrophotography.  Although I'm still very much a beginner, I believe that I've been a fairly quick study in learning about automated photo sessions, image stacking, signal-to-noise ratios in digital photography (shades of reciprocity failures during my analog days!), the use of Photoshop to bring out the best in the resulting images, and so on.  At this point, I think I've pushed a Canon DSLR, Sigma 120-400 lens (my airshow lens), and Sky Watcher mount about as far as they can go.  BTW, if anyone wants to learn some tricks to bore sighting a hot-shoe mounted iPhone as a spotting scope, let me know.