•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

What parameters to use in autofocus in NINA

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 EEBA

EEBA

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 September 2021 - 04:20 AM

Hi folks, I invested money in 2 focusers for some of my rigs. I have been using them for a few months and I think I need to master this because I don’t enjoy it. It is suppose to make things simpler and faster , but I think I spend more time now than before I had them. I I have a moon lite in my edge 800 with locked mirrors and a ZWO AEF in my radian raptor. Let’s focus tonight in my moon lite and my edge . I noticed I get bad curves like seesaw and sometimes get a fail message. My focal length is 2032 mm. And I I’m using overshoot 150. Exposure 10 seconds. Step size 10 initial offset 4 Binnin 1.
Ah , I image with ZWO 533mc.
Any advice how to change to parameters I need?

#2 Sean1980

Sean1980

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 23 September 2021 - 05:22 AM

First suggestion head over to the NINA discord. 4 steps offset I think should be higher for a reflector if I recall correctly like 6, not sure about step size. It’s also important that you are already close to focus before starting the AF routine. And look at the HFR change when doing the initial offset should be large enough for a good measurement. My focus is good at 4 and with my stepsize and offset the first measure point is 12 which gives a nice curve

#3 EEBA

EEBA

Ranger 4

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 September 2021 - 05:32 AM