•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Where Does Your Refractor Max Out?

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 briansalomon1

briansalomon1

Viking 1

• topic starter
  • Loc: Oxnard CA

Posted 24 September 2021 - 09:28 PM

I've been observing for over 40 years, almost all of it with refractors. The lions share has been with a TV102 and now I've had an NP101 for several years.

I've read Ed Ting reviews of really good refractors similar to the TV102 and NP101 getting up to really high magnifications and after some pretty good seeing earlier this week I've decided I can get ~300X with my NP101 but the view in my opinion breaks down above that and I'm not certain it was the scope but I'm wondering what others have experienced. The eyepieces were Nagler 5mm and 3.5mm, both with the same 2X power mate.

I have an Obsession 15UC coming pretty soon but until I get that, I have to judge the seeing by how much the overhead stars twinkle. Seeing wasn't "best ever" but definitely "very good".

• Bomber Bob likes this

#2 vtornado

vtornado

Skylab

• Loc: 42N 88W

Posted 24 September 2021 - 09:33 PM

Unless I am trying to split a double star, or turn neptune into a disk,

I only use .5mm exit pupil (200x) for a 100mm frac.

My atmosphere caps out around there too, no matter how big the scope is.

• stevew, ewave, Bomber Bob and 1 other like this

#3 teashea

teashea

Gemini

• Loc: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Posted 24 September 2021 - 09:51 PM

I've been observing for over 40 years, almost all of it with refractors. The lions share has been with a TV102 and now I've had an NP101 for several years.