•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ZWO Electronic Auto Focuser with ASIair Pro

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 msamazing

msamazing

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 25 September 2021 - 09:45 PM

Does anybody know of a YouTube video showing how to use the ZWO focuser with the ASIair Pro?  

Thank you in advance.

#2 Rob B1472

Rob B1472

Sputnik

• -----

Posted 25 September 2021 - 10:14 PM

What’s the issue? If you are close to focus hit AF on the focus menu on the left hand side and it will find the V curve and focus

#3 msamazing

msamazing

Explorer 1

• topic starter

Posted 25 September 2021 - 10:35 PM

What’s the issue? If you are close to focus hit AF on the focus menu on the left hand side and it will find the V curve and focus

There are many setting and I have never used an electronic focuser before.  Also, do I need the temperature sensor or does it figure out the focus based the picture it takes?

#4 Enance42

Enance42

Vostok 1

• -----
  • Loc: Alton Il.

Posted 25 September 2021 - 11:09 PM

You don't need the temp sensor but in my opinion it is worth it. I have it and set to refocus after a certain temp change. As Rob said, on the left side of the screen, tap the focus icon. A menu will pop up with 2 arrows in the middle, fast or slow at the top and AF at the bottom. Tap the AF at the bottom and it will calculate the V curve.

#5 mannys

mannys

Explorer 1

• -----
  • Loc: San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 25 September 2021 - 11:29 PM

Does the EAF have a hard stop? If so, do you have to set the focus first on the scope before installing the EAF? This is assuming that by doing so, it allows the EAF to rotate an equal amount clockwise and counter-clockwise? If installed before focusing, could the EAF then run into the hard stop before the scope gets focused?