•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Synscan on a Dobsonian -- aligning and leveling

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 drotto25

drotto25

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 26 September 2021 - 04:38 PM

I am very new to telescopes so certainly new to the electronics also.  I was having some issues aligning the scope.  I was getting very close, but kept ending up a few degrees off and am constantly having to do a little searching when using Goto.  I was looking for some hints and help.  Also, how important is it for the scope to be on a completely level surface while setting everything up?

This is an Alt AZ style mount.

Edited by drotto25, 26 September 2021 - 04:38 PM.

#2 Fcschwartz

Fcschwartz

Lift Off

• -----

Posted 26 September 2021 - 10:31 PM

Hi I'm frank. I also had issues when first using Synscan and go-to. In my experience keeping the mount and/or tripod  level as you can is important. Make sure of the scopes position when using North level start position also ( if you choose). Use True North with compass or Polaris when possible. Good eyeballing scope level is fine. Pick you aligning stars carefully visualizing them above the horizon and separate them some degrees apart when you can for better accuracy. Make sure you recognize the stars your using, it may sound silly ,but I've confused them in the past  .Don't just go by brightness. Use low magnification, wide angle eyepiece starting out to get your orientation. You can more to higher mag. and even reticle eyepiece to follow. One of my mistakes  was going too high at first and being completely lost due to small observing field. It takes some practice , but follow things in a ordering fashion and it works. Oh and important once your aligned ,if you bump or more the scope mount , it basically a redo. Good luck clear skys.

#3 drotto25

drotto25