•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Issue with not being able to bring camera into focus on a bargain-basement reflector

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 JustErik

JustErik

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: SE Michigan - the BLUE university

Posted 26 September 2021 - 09:32 PM

Hi All:

Just joined the forum, although I've been reading and learning from a lot of posts to this forum over the last 6-9 months.  I have a bit of a challenge that I'm facing.  I'm pretty new to astronomy, although I've been an occasional night sky viewer when important stuff was going on (Hale-Bopp back in 1997, and fascinated by Shoemaker-Levy impacts on Jupiter back in 1994).  Finally had time to actually try to capture images of NEOWISE last summer with a Nikon 850 DSLR using 30s images (by hand) on a tripod, which got me interested in trying to look at more things in the night skies.  Decided to buy an actual telescope later that year for the grand conjunction of Jupiter and Saturn (but of course up here in Michigan we had cloudy skies).