•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Newbie with celestron 5se help!

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 EHuffman

EHuffman

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Lebanon/Dayton, Ohio

Posted 26 September 2021 - 09:49 PM

Hi So I am new to star gazing and telescopes and Just bought my first celestron nextstar 5se, I took it ou this evening and it doesnt seem to be magnified at all.. I am using a 2x barlow lens plus a 25 or 32 mm lense for starters, And all I can see is distant stars when I focus it.... I hear people say you can see pretty neat stuff with a 5se. so what am I doing wrong?? Thanks!

#2 PolyWogg

PolyWogg

Messenger

• -----
  • Loc: Ottawa, Canada

Posted 26 September 2021 - 10:29 PM

Hi EH, welcome to the group. The primary problem is likely NOT with your scope but with your expectations. Lots of people get a scope and think they can point it anywhere and see amazing things. Generally, well, no. You still need to point it at the GOOD STUFF, so to speak, so let's talk a bit about that and we'll get to your star issue as we go.

SUN -- Never look at it without a solar filter, of course, but magnification will make a huge difference, allowing you to use your 25mm default and maybe the barlow for some good views. 

MOON -- The moon is amazing, just never amazing at full moon (where it appears like a flat disk) and you'll likely only use your 25mm (maybe barlow for some stuff).