•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Question about 1960s Tasco 11TE-5

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 tbar23

tbar23

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 27 September 2021 - 07:50 PM

Hi all - complete noob here. My father just brought me his 1960s Tasco 11TE-5 900mm telescope. We got it assembled and had a few hours of clear skies last night. We easily saw Jupiter’s moons and a tiny Saturn (with rings) using the H20mm eyepiece. We had absolutely no luck with the Barlow (2x?) or the H6mm. Both the H6mm and either eyepiece with the Barlow looked very, very blurry no matter how hard we tried to focus.

Note - we did zero testing / inspection of anything. This telescope probably hasn’t been used in at least 40 years. Other than aligning the finderscope, we did nothing other than pointing it skyward.

Looking down inside the tube, I’m pretty sure the primary mirror needs cleaning. In addition, I’m quite sure I could use some better eyepieces - which I’m assuming requires a 0.965 to 1.25” eyepiece adapter.

I haven’t investigated what a good thorough revitalization will cost, but I’m wondering if it is worth it. Should I just put the money towards a new(er) telescope??

How much performance can you get out of one of these Tascos?

• Bomber Bob likes this

#2 BillShakes

BillShakes

Messenger

• Loc: Central New Hampshire, USA

Posted 28 September 2021 - 04:36 PM

Hi - Welcome to Cloudy Nights.  The Tasco 11TE is a fun scope and, with a little TLC can give you great views.