•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Histogram of Deep Sky Object (DSO) Sizes from Messier Catalog and Starman1's Catalog

Beginner Charts DSO Eyepieces Observing
  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Vatsumok

Vatsumok

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 September 2021 - 02:09 AM

I am new to the hobby, and decided to create a histogram of dimensions for two popular DSO catalogs. 

How to use these histograms:

These histogram will help you figure out how many DSOs will fit nicely with a given eyepiece TFOV:

1. Calculate the TFOV of your chosen eyepiece in your chosen scope.  There are a number of online calculators that will do it for you.  (For example, a 14mm eyepiece in my 127mm Maksutov scope gives a TFOV of 44 MOA.)
  2. Subtract a 20%-30% framing allowance from the TFOV in previous step 1.  This allowance is to make sure a DSO can fit comfortably in the middle of the eyepiece with some space to spare.  (30% allowance makes my eyepiece 26 "usable" MOA).
  3. Use the histograms below to find a corresponding bucket and see precisely how many objects would fit perfectly in your eyepiece! BOOM!  (Continuing our example, 20-25 MOA bucket and 15-20 MOA bucket would fit nicely in my 26-usable-MOA eyepiece.  These two buckets contain 18 DSO objects from the Messier catalog.)
  4. All smaller histogram buckets will obviously fit in the eyepiece, but they might look too small.  Consider an eyepiece with a higher magnification and smaller TFOV, which will be better suited to see something two or three buckets to the left.   Anything right of the bucket will need a lower magnification wider TFOV eyepiece.

Fine-print about the data:

• All dimensions are in MOA (Minutes of Angle / arc-minute).  For fellow beginners, 1 degree angle = 60 arc-minutes = 3,600 arc-seconds.