•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Calcium K filters

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 cardanoc

cardanoc

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 28 September 2021 - 02:37 PM

Hi,

I've been doing H-alpha for several years and love it.

Ca K looks very interesting.

Has anyone had success or a bad experience with the Baader Ca K filter?

I would use it with the Lunt Herschel wedge.

Thanks for reading this.

#2 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Cosmos

• Loc: Florida

Posted 28 September 2021 - 03:05 PM

Hi,

The Baader K line filter is just a photosphere filter. It's not the lower cooler chromosphere of Calcium K because its simply too wide of a filter.

Also, near UV wavelengths are mostly not even visual because we cannot see much due to yellowing of our cornea over time. If you're purely visual, you may want to look to the Calcium H line such as a Quark Calcium.

Otherwise, the Lunt Calcium K module is 2.4A and narrow enough to show the chromosphere in calcium, if you can see that wavelength visually (it will be fine with a camera of course).

Very best,

#3 TOMDEY

TOMDEY

Voyager 1

• Loc: Springwater, NY

Posted 28 September 2021 - 03:30 PM

I got the Lunt ~straight through~ CaK filter years ago and it performs well spectrally... except that it has quite objectionable astigmatism, which is a disappointment. I actually bought that version because I figured it would be less apt to have a crummy wavefront. I never bothered to return it, so always wind up focusing to a "compromise" focus. So, occasionally, junk filters get through the Lunt production. And when Meade bought them out... junkiness became more of their mission and vision, rather than just occasional slip-ups. Hopefully, new owner Orion will straighten out Meade's/Lunt's quality issues.    Tom

#4 MalVeauX

MalVeauX

Cosmos

Posted 28 September 2021 - 03:38 PM