•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Telescope advice for Astrophotography

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 tbar23

tbar23

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 14 October 2021 - 11:11 AM

I know there are quite a few threads on this topic, and I have read several of them (but happy to be pointed to more). As is often the case, I’m coming from a specific situation which may change guidance. I am brand new to AP and have started to explore it with a Canon EOS RP mirrorless, an iOptron SkyGuider Pro and a few lenses (the kit 24-105 mm ST, a Rokinon 14mm F/2.8 and a Canon 50 mm F/1.8). I have not attempted many targets other than an untracked Milkyway (14 mm) from a reasonably dark location and a tracked Andromeda from my front yard (Bortle 5, tracked kit lens taped at 105mm).

The core of my question comes down to this: plenty of recommendations and marketing around RedCat / SpaceCat 51 and Radian 61. Some counter-thoughts around RedCat being an “odd” combination of telescope / wildlife photography lens and Radian being a well-marketed over-priced Sharpstar.

My EOS Rp, lenses and iOptron tracker are all recent purchases, and I will likely hold off a bit before getting a telescope. However, in preparation I’d like to start the research. I like what I have read regarding ease-of-use and portable and choosing a small refractor to get started (especially since my SkyGuider Pro probably needs to stick to small-ish).