•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Vignette not getting calibrated out on one side

Astrophotography Beginner
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 astrokyle

astrokyle

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: New Zealand

Posted 15 October 2021 - 03:36 AM

Hello,

I'm fairly new to imaging with the ASI294MC-Pro and can't figure out why the calibration of this session is not working as expected.

When stacking master dark and master flat with light frames the bottom left still shows some light streaks and has a very apparent circular feature.

_20211015_stacked_dark_flat_B_stretch.jpg

I've tried stacking with Deep Sky Stacker in various combinations of calibration frames

These seem okay

• no callibration
  • dark only
  • flat only
  • flat and darkflat

However, these have the issue:

• dark and flat
  • dark, flat, and darkflat

Here's a link to a Google Drive folder with a raw light, each of the above stacked images, and the calibration master files: https://drive.google...66D?usp=sharing

I also noticed that the stack with the flats and flat+darkflat creates a bright white vignette in the final image, almost like it's over calibrating?

_20211015_stacked_flat_stretch.jpg

Does anyone have any insights to what's going on here?

Thanks!

#2 jdupton

jdupton

Soyuz

• Loc: Central Texas, USA

Posted 15 October 2021 - 11:58 AM

astrokyle,

I don't think what you are seeing in your first image is vignetting. To me it looks like a (more or less normal but extreme) complex gradient. I would first suspect your set-up location and shielding of the imaging train.