•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Have 8x42, is 16x70 a good addition?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 GoFish

GoFish

Mercury-Atlas

• topic starter
  • Loc: Wisconsin

Posted 16 October 2021 - 04:52 PM

I have 8x42 Pentax DCF WP binocs that I’m happy with for both day use and astronomy.  (Also have 8x56 Celestron Ultima. But side by side comparison favors the Pentax.)

I’ve ordered a p-mount that should be here in a few days.  I’m not very good at hand holding even smallish binocs. 

I’d like to have more magnification for some objects (galaxies, globulars, and Jupiter’s moons, for instance). I am leaning towards the APM 16x70 ED magnesium series to supplement the 8x42. The $800 price tag is about my limit, but false color on Jupiter, e.g., is something I’d like to minimize, so I think I’ll appreciate the ED glass and don’t mind paying a little more for it. 

I know 7x50 and 10x50 are really popular, but I don’t feel like either would be substantially different than my 8x42. 

Is the APM 16x70 ED a good choice for my next binocs?  (I am favoring it over the Oberwerk 15x70 for the extra eye relief, a little bigger sharp zone, and less color). 

#2 Mark9473

Mark9473

Voyager 1

• Loc: 51°N 4°E

Posted 16 October 2021 - 05:00 PM

Yes, great choice.

• SMark and ECP M42 like this

#3 DrJ1

DrJ1

Messenger

• -----

Posted 16 October 2021 - 05:04 PM

The APM 16x70 ED has been discussed a lot lately, and very favorably, so you should get some helpful opinions.  I have many 7x50, 8x42, and 10x50 binoculars including the fantastic Fujinon Polaris  FMTR-SX 10x50.  Nevertheless, I do enjoy my 16x binocs, expecially for lunar viewing and objects like the Orion nebula.  For lunar viewing, my vintage $50 Manon 16x50 is a sleeper with excellent contrast.  Good luck, DrJ1

• GoFish likes this

#4 ButterFly

ButterFly