•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Binocular mount advantages

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

#1 Pat Bohlinger

Pat Bohlinger

Explorer 1

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 18 May 2004 - 10:58 AM

I have deep respect and appreciation for the members of this group who offer their time and expertise to answer the questions of those of us less enlightened. And boy, I have a couple of really unenlightened questions I’m struggling with.

I have owned an Orion 8” Newtonian reflector for just over a year now and as I become more familiar with the objects it can render, I’ve never lost an appreciation for what binocular astronomy can bring as well. I have been using a cheap pair of Tasco 12x50’s for about 4 years and plan to upgrade to a pair of Oberwerk 15x70’s this year.

My experience with 12 power binos confirms I will need a mount to stabilize the view and therein lies my quandary. Having purchased $1200 worth of astro-goodies last year and finally getting my wife speaking to me again, the thought of dropping another $500 for binos and a good mount has me washing my sleeping bag and sweeping out the doghouse. Not a bad trade-off since the sky view from the doghouse is decent and the dog doesn’t snore, but I need to get this right the first time if possible.

My style of viewing will probably involve a lot of scanning around and relatively short (2-3 minutes) linger times on objects and the more I have to fiddle with a mount the more frustrated I will become.

Monopods would seem to be among the most flexible and hassle free form of mount, especially the one on Bigbinoculars.com: http://www.bigbinocu...om/monopod.htm.