•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moving from Mono 814M to OSC ASI2600mc using RASA 11"

Astrophotography
  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 davidpuglia

davidpuglia

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 17 October 2021 - 11:31 AM

I've been using a Starlight XPress 814M for 7 years on a C14 Hyperstar and recently a RASA 11" with very good results.  I recently moved to Northern Arizona in a Bortle 4 area.  I've ordered a ZWO OSC ASI2600mc and will be using the RASA 11".  I use the Starizona filter drawer and trying to determine what LP filter I should use with this new combination.  The IDAS NBZ LP filter was recommended since it was designed for fast f2 systems that will not result in spectral shift but I can't find any in stock on this planet.  I'm now looking at the Opotolong L Extreme LP filter.  Not sure if it works well with fast f2 systems.  Does anyone have experience with this combination?  I've also seen posts from folks that live in Bortle 4 areas and they don't use LP filters with their OSC cameras.  Any advice appreciated,  Thanks

• pyrasanth likes this

#2 pyrasanth

pyrasanth

Aurora

Posted 17 October 2021 - 12:18 PM

I replaced the clear stock filter on my RASA 11" with the Astrodon/Celestron LPR filter which works really well. I use this in combination with the Optolong Lenhance filter and with the ASI2600MC pro is a potent combination. Whilst it is advised not to use more than 1 filter I've not found any descernable reason to remove the LPR filter so it stays in the RASA all the time. It is useful as when I remove the LE-enhance filter I have the LPR filter still in place for normal OSC imaging.