•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Celestron RACI finder on C8 prevents swinging OTA on fork

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 randallpatrickc

randallpatrickc

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Palm Coast FL, USA

Posted 17 October 2021 - 02:22 PM

Hi - newbie here;

trying to replace the standard 6x30 finder with the RACI but one of the screws that clamp the diagonal doesn’t clear the forks. I could get around this if the finder OTA would rotate in its rings but I don’t want too force it. Does it rotate pls?

I could always shorten the screw I suppose

Help!

Attached Thumbnails

• IMG_5433.jpg

Edited by randallpatrickc, 17 October 2021 - 02:23 PM.

#2 Chris Johnson

Chris Johnson

Viking 1

• Loc: Stockholm, NJ

Posted 17 October 2021 - 05:02 PM

Can you/ post a picture of the complete scope and mount. Something doesn’t look right. What mount are you using?
  • esd726 and Echolight like this

#3 Rich V.

Rich V.

Cosmos

• Loc: Lake Tahoe area, Nevada

Posted 17 October 2021 - 05:06 PM

If you spin the forks 180° around, you won't have the finder buried down inside of the forks in the first place, if I'm seeing your setup correctly. The finder should end up on the top of the scope away from the fork, not the bottom.  A better, wider view of the whole fork/scope setup would be a help.

• esd726 and randallpatrickc like this

#4 Napp

Napp

Soyuz

• Moderators
  • Loc: Northeast Florida, USA

Posted 17 October 2021 - 05:06 PM

If I am actually understanding your question, the finder does rotate within its rings.  Just loosen the screws that secure the finder OTA and turn it to where you want it.  Then retighten.  You will have to realign the finder to the scope afterwards.  However, I agree with above.  Why are you in this position?

• randallpatrickc likes this

#5 randallpatrickc

randallpatrickc