•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Noob's First Polar Allignment

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 David I

David I

Vostok 1

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Illinois

Posted 18 October 2021 - 09:02 PM

Total noob here.Yesterday I was practicing polar allignment for the first time according to all the instructions with my EQ6-R and so I first found polaris on my phone’s Stellarium but nothing in the polar scope.  All I could see through the polar scope were  very faint stars,  I gave up and I’m planning  on getting the ‘Polar Aligner Pro’ for my android.

So tonight I took things into my own hands and used the polar scope like a spotting scope and voila ! I saw the moon ,jupiter and polaris very bright clear and in focus through the polar scope. Nothing wrong with the polarscope.  I think it’s a good idea to get the  Polar Alligner Pro to get a pretty good polar allignment and then easily I could check the polar scope an adjust  to get it even better .  Also the front yard has no polaris view so  I will need to use this App.  I will report as things develop , like getting my first scope in a few days. Thanks for reading.
David

Attached Thumbnails

• EQ6-R.jpg

• jerahian likes this

#2 DJL

DJL

Viking 1

• -----

Posted 18 October 2021 - 09:22 PM

Walk around until you can see Polaris. Then make sure you can see it at your viewing position. I find Sun Surveyor app good for showing the position of the Pole. Kudos for using the EQ6-R mount head as a kettlebell:-)

Edited by DJL, 18 October 2021 - 09:38 PM.

• David I likes this

#3 Paul Sweeney

Paul Sweeney

Viking 1

• -----
  • Loc: Heidelberg, Germany

Posted 22 October 2021 - 02:31 AM