•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Filters - do you think you know what you bought?

Filters Report
  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 dobrychemik

dobrychemik

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 October 2021 - 07:03 AM

Hi everyone!
I’m new here, but I’m not a newbie to astro. I’m a chemist with some experience in spectroscopy and have access to two spectrophotometers. Therefore, some time ago I started to verify the parameters of astronomical filters. During almost two years of measurements, I collected a lot of spectra. Moreover, I have found manufacturers’ declarations often differ enormously from reality. In this thread I will present you the results of my measurements from time to time.
Oskar

EQUIPMENT

SPEC1 - Shimadzu UV-2101PC (the better one)
SPEC2 - Hitachi U-2900

PROCEDURE

1. Warming up of the spectrophotometer, especially of both lamps - 15 minutes.

2. Automatic calibration - baseline measurement over the entire spectrum measurement range.

3. Measurement parameters:
- temperature 20 ⁰C
- SPEC1, standard measurements: 300-850 nm, resolution 0.2 nm, slit 0.2 nm
- SPEC1, high resolution measurements: resolution 0.05 nm, slit 0.05 nm
- SPEC2, standard measurements: 200-1100 nm, resolution 1 nm, slit 1.5 nm
- SPEC2, high resolution measurement: …………………………….

4. Four-fold measurement of the empty spectrum (T = 100%) and two-fold measurement of the spectrum for the masked detector (T = 0%). These spectra are used to calibrate the filter transmittance measurements more precisely.