•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

M31 from Missouri

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tboss70

tboss70

Gemini

• topic starter
  • Loc: Missouri

Posted 19 October 2021 - 01:16 PM

Despite the nearly full bright moon I got out last night and managed to save 7, five minute exposures (satellites and planes)

I am still new to DSO processing so this has been shrunk down as it was processed a little too hard. Its still a little too light as well.

I'm also still trying to find out the best method for setup each night. Here, I set the mount up, polar align with scope and sync a few stars to make goto's more accurate. Once I land on my object, I ensure its centered then launch PHD2 to start guiding.

Takahashi FC-100DZ at F/5.3.

ASI 2600MC

35 minutes total exposure time.

Attached Thumbnails

• m31P4postjpeg.jpeg

• mikewayne3, DuncanM, zxx and 14 others like this

#2 mikewayne3

mikewayne3

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: San Diego CA

Posted 19 October 2021 - 02:40 PM

That's a respectable first time

Good job

waytogo.gif

Edited by mikewayne3, 19 October 2021 - 02:40 PM.

• tboss70 likes this

#3 tboss70

tboss70

Gemini

• topic starter

Posted 19 October 2021 - 02:42 PM

Thanks for all the likes and to be sure I didnt mislead anyone, this is not my first attempt. That said, I dont have much experience with it. Just dabbling here and there and its been a while since I did that. The processing was done via ASI Stacker and I took that TIF file and loaded it in Gimp. From there is was all curves.

#4 rblackadar

rblackadar

Ranger 4

• Loc: Northern California (Mt. Tam)

Posted 19 October 2021 - 03:19 PM

It's better than I've done, so far, on M31. (Its size is a poor match for my equipment and I'm not up to mosaics yet.)

Don't forget to load flats when you stack, looks like that might help.

• tboss70 likes this