•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Orion SkyView Pro issue slewing to objects after alignment

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 pbretelson

pbretelson

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 19 October 2021 - 01:36 PM

Let me start off by saying I am new to using a goto equatorial mount.  I have purchased a used Orion SkyView Pro goto mount about a month ago that has a SynScan controller with firmware version 3 installed.  I have polar aligned the mount and have carefully entered in the long/lat, time, time zone, daylight saving setting, etc into the hand controller multiple times for a 2-star alignment with this mount.  Every time it slews to an object I have selected from the hand controller after alignment, it correctly moves in the right direction to the object but ends up below the horizon when finished.  I have tried different time zones as I am close to -5 and -6 zones with no help.  I have repeated this procedure at least a dozen times with the same failed result.  I have called Orion support and explained in great detail the issue and they think it is the motor control box.  Are these known to fail? Can anyone assist?  I am beyond frustrated with this issue. 

#2 DuncanM

DuncanM

Soyuz

• Loc: Arizona Sky Village or the rain forest

Posted 19 October 2021 - 01:52 PM