•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Wide Angle Astrophotography

Beginner Astrophotography Equipment Refractor
  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 ryan_pablo

ryan_pablo

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2021 - 10:04 AM

Hi all. Newbie here and I looking to building my first deep sky set up. I want to start out with a wide angle refractor telescope (preferably a triplet refractor). My goals are to capture the California Nebula, Heart and Soul Nebula, Andromeda Galaxy, Veil Nebula, and more. I am leaning towards the Radian Raptor 61 or the William Optic 71GT. I like how they both come with a flattener and are around the same price. I am favoring the 71GT but I am curious if that might be too much of a focal length to capture my desired objects. Any suggestions? Thank you.

#2 Simcal

Simcal

Viking 1

• Loc: Caledon, Ont.

Posted 20 October 2021 - 10:14 AM

Hi Ryan, play around with this imaging calculator here:  https://astronomy.to.../field_of_view/

You can enter telescope or pick from a list, enter imaging camera, and the target object and it will frame it up for you. waytogo.gif

• jcj380, bobzeq25 and ryan_pablo like this

#3 ryan_pablo

ryan_pablo

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 20 October 2021 - 10:23 AM

Hi Ryan, play around with this imaging calculator here:  https://astronomy.to.../field_of_view/

You can enter telescope or pick from a list, enter imaging camera, and the target object and it will frame it up for you. waytogo.gif

Thank you! I'll play around on this site to weigh my options. 

#4 SilverLitz

SilverLitz

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Louisville, KY

Posted 20 October 2021 - 03:18 PM