•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Moon filter

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 nctrailrunner

nctrailrunner

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pinehurst, NC

Posted 20 October 2021 - 08:56 PM

Howdy!

I tried searching this. There must be a thread about this, but... I am not good at searching, and I don't feel like pursuing it...

I have a 13% meade moon filter (ND96). It is not nearly dark enough to look at the full moon. I don't spend a lot of time looking at the full moon. it is not that interesting. But when it is full, I always spend a little time looking at it, as everything else is washed out..

What would you recommend for a 1.25 full moon filter, that will protect my eyes?

Thanks.

#2 wrvond

wrvond

Soyuz

• Loc: West Virginia

Posted 20 October 2021 - 09:04 PM

Sunglasses.

Or, you could get a variable polarization filter. That would cover you for all the moon's phases.  

• maroubra_boy, PatrickVt and Escape Pod like this

#3 nctrailrunner

nctrailrunner

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Pinehurst, NC

Posted 20 October 2021 - 09:13 PM

Sunglasses is interesting. Combined with the filter, would probably be a good, free, solution.

Edited by nctrailrunner, 20 October 2021 - 09:14 PM.

#4 ram812

ram812

Apollo

• -----

Posted 20 October 2021 - 09:33 PM

I sometimes stack a blue visual filter with one of my moon filters and it tones it down a bit. I also have 3 different moon filters and I believe they each have a different level of light dimming power as they are all from different manufacturers. They didn't cost over $25USD each and can sometimes be found used. I bought a cheapo telescope one time and it had a moon filter with it, and it turned into my go-to light diffuser. Sometimes cheaper is better!

CS

Edited by ram812, 20 October 2021 - 09:34 PM.

#5 Napp

Napp

Soyuz