•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Help a newbie trying to figure out his Iexos 100 and platesolving(ASPS)

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Volta55

Volta55

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: CT

Posted 21 October 2021 - 09:55 PM

Hi all! 

I am new to using my new EQ mount, and trying to Platesolve ( because I am currently too cheap to buy a polar scope haha ) and the polar hole is terrible to work with. 

Here are some cliff notes of my failed night

(Gear: Nikon D5200, Iexos 100 mount, ExploreStars app, All Sky Plate Solver, Backyard Nikon, Dell laptop)

-Set up the gear ( level tripod, wireless udp connection with Ascom mount and other apps on the laptop, powered up mount )

- Set a rough polar alignment through the polar tunnel ( It is really hard for me to get it in the "corner" of the tunnel for a more accurate polar alignment; its so small and dim in these skies )

-Pointed to Polaris to plate solve. I did a 20 sec exposure. and I followed this video to a tee https://www.youtube....h?v=53_mLYNkarE

- I kept getting this error (picture of error) https://i.imgur.com/1S2AVGR.jpg when trying to solve then sync. 

- I also tried numerous times manually inputting the coordinates that the ASPS solve gave me, then slewing to that coord, and it would be off by a good amount.

I know I am screwing up something... But I feel like I am very close to actually using this mount for imaging! 

Fire away 

-Jordan

#2 D_talley

D_talley

Skylab

• Loc: Albuquerque, New Mexico

Posted 21 October 2021 - 10:57 PM

I would make sure you have all of the ASCOM drivers and software installed. That is what the error is referencing.

#3 Volta55

Volta55

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2021 - 11:51 AM