•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Questions about the Zhumell Z100

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Autumn

Autumn

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2021 - 01:37 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a university student who wishes to upgrade my telescope from a 70mm refractor to a reflector with a larger aperture. I hope to get one that is portable, as I will often be carrying this telescope in my hands from my dorm room to dark areas on campus for stargazing. When I'm not in school, I of course wish to be able to take the reflector telescope by car to dark sky locations such as Killarney Provincial Park, North Frontenac Dark Sky Preserve, provincial parks as well as attend some dark sky star parties once the pandemic is over and it is safe to do so.

One telescope I am considering is the Zhumell Z100. I like the fact that it has a parabolic mirror. It is within my budget (not exactly flush with cash as most of my money is going towards tuition and school related expenses). Being an F/4 telescope, I have read that any reflector telescope above f/6 could suffer from coma issues. Is there a noticeable coma issue with this telescope or do the eye pieces it comes with, avert that problem?

I do have a Celestron Omni 2x barlow lens, will that help reduce the coma, if any?

https://zhumell.com/...ector-telescope

I have read that F/4 fast reflectors require precision collimation in order to get clear sharp views. This telescope's parabolic mirror is tightly mounted into the back end of the tube and barring major modification to the telescope, this telescope is one where the user cannot collimate the primary mirror. For others who have had this telescope, do you know if, barring any shock accidents, the telescope will be able to hold collimation for many many years so that it has good longevity?