•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

"rookie" question about gain

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Stargazerman

Stargazerman

Sputnik

• -----
  • topic starter
  • Loc: Mid Michigan

Posted 22 October 2021 - 04:13 PM

Hi all

list of my equipment, avx mount 6" newt scope an asi294mc pro camera baader markIII CC and a eaf auto focuser.

my question how to figure out what gain to use on my DSO targets. I have tried but not much luck with higher or lower gain ! By the way I am guiding too. To run my setup I'm using cpwi,sharpcap pro and phd2. Is the gain just trial and error or is there a formula. I'm a rookie at this ! I have had luck at 300 gain but my pics are poor and i'm not good at processing yet.

thanks in advance

Ken

#2 jgreif

jgreif

Explorer 1

• -----

Posted 22 October 2021 - 04:40 PM

Gain vs Read Noise.jpg

my question how to figure out what gain to use on my DSO targets. I have tried but not much luck with higher or lower gain ! By the way I am guiding too. To run my setup I'm using cpwi,sharpcap pro and phd2. Is the gain just trial and error or is there a formula. I'm a rookie at this ! I have had luck at 300 gain but my pics are poor and i'm not good at processing yet.

Most camera manuals will have charts showing optimal gain (vs noise, for example).  Here's the chart for my camera, ZWO ASI533MC Pro.  Notice the incredible dip in noise at Gain 100.  That is the optimal gain, and what I use for imaging.  Hope that helps.

• Sylon likes this

#3 JCDAstro

JCDAstro

Vostok 1

• -----

Posted 22 October 2021 - 07:39 PM

I think it is 117-120 gain for the 294, that is where the dynamic range and the read noise have the best points in the curves.