•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

First light, and First time processing my OSC data

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 asf

asf

Mariner 2

• ****-
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2021 - 06:28 PM

Hey guys, I got new gear! Redcat 51 and ZWO ASI 183MC Pro, Svbony UHC Lp filter and my ioptron sky guider pro(already owned). So! I did first light and I was aiming for sadr, but idk where I ended up. I saw nebulosity in my 60 second exposure and it was already late so I let it run for bout an hour. Here is the stacked(slightly stretched) image, https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing. Anyone have tips for processing the OSC data? I'm completely new to this kind of processing, I've not calibrated it with darks, biases, flats so can you process this while I create a library for my Darks, Flats and Biases? Will return updated image here. 

Thank you

#2 asf

asf

Mariner 2

• ****-
  • topic starter

Posted 22 October 2021 - 07:57 PM

Calibrated: https://drive.google...iew?usp=sharing

#3 Juzwuz

Juzwuz

Sputnik

• -----
  • Loc: Seattle, WA

Posted 22 October 2021 - 09:41 PM

Have you ever tried http://nova.astrometry.net/? You can upload your image and let it platesolve.

http://nova.astromet...70365#annotated

• Baron von Smoogle likes this

#4 Dren

Dren

Vostok 1

• Loc: San Diego, CA

Posted 22 October 2021 - 10:08 PM

Congrats on your Redcat!

I use mono camera, so am not sure if OSC processing is different.  I would assume that after R, G, and B images from mono are combined, then processing would be the same/similar.  Anyways, here is what I can get using just (1) background extraction, (2) background neutralization, (3) color calibration, and (4) stretching in PixInsight.  The brighter image is from autostretch, and darker image is from archsinhstretch.

Brighter.JPG

Darker.JPG