Jump to content

  •  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

ROR automatic door opening with newer garage door openers

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 LoveChina61

LoveChina61

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,655
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Posted 22 October 2021 - 08:36 PM

My old observatory in Arizona used a Genie 1/2hp 3060L Directlift Plus screw-drive garage door opener. One thing I liked about it was that it had a simple "doorbell" wall switch that was easy to hook up to my Fosters System Controller for automatic door opening.

 

From what I am reading about the new garage door openers, I may not need to hassle with limit switches at each end of the garage door opener's run. The start and end of the run can be programmed within the opener's own internal computer (e.g. Genie MachForce opener). How nice! However, it includes a more complex wall-mounted unit and it doesn't look like I will be able to wire up my Foster Systems Controller as easily to this. Is anyone else successfully using one of these more "modern" garage door openers? If yes:

 

1. how were you able to hook it up to a Fosters System Controller or the like to open the door remotely via your computer?

 

2. what exact model number of garage door opener are you using to successfully open your ROR remotely?

 

3. What systems controller (e.g. Foster's, etc.)?

 

Thank you very much for any input you can provide.

 

Mike



#2 Raginar

Raginar

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,882
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Pensacola, FL

Posted 25 October 2021 - 01:27 PM

1. My genie had these features.  You still need the limit switches because of how a foster controller works (it needs to know when to show open or closed).  Limit switches go to those sensor inputs on the board. The fancy wall control does suck.  I had to solder the wire from my foster to the 'button' on the board to make it think it was receiving a 'push' from the button.  The ground is labeled and you just solder the wire in front of where the button connects to it.  It was ugly but it worked for 3 years.  

 

2. No idea the exact model number; it was a screw drive genie with the ability to set the travel distance. It was similar to this: https://store.geniec...wireless-keypad . My controller was wired vice wireless... 

 

3. I used a Fosters controller  It was like a v2 I think?  It had up to 2 inputs for a garage door and 2 inputs for sensors. https://www.fostersy...php?productid=7 I don't think it's changed at all. Use linear safety switches versus the magnets.  The magnets were always finicky and if you don't get a 'for sure' to the foster it'll go wonky.  The linear safety switches are super simple and reliable.  

 

The details are in my build thread (bone yard, there are two of them).

 

You can PM me if you need specifics, I've got pictures of everything too.


  • LoveChina61 likes this

#3 LoveChina61

LoveChina61

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,655
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Posted 25 October 2021 - 06:56 PM

1. My genie had these features.  You still need the limit switches because of how a foster controller works (it needs to know when to show open or closed).  Limit switches go to those sensor inputs on the board. The fancy wall control does suck.  I had to solder the wire from my foster to the 'button' on the board to make it think it was receiving a 'push' from the button.  The ground is labeled and you just solder the wire in front of where the button connects to it.  It was ugly but it worked for 3 years.  

 

2. No idea the exact model number; it was a screw drive genie with the ability to set the travel distance. It was similar to this: https://store.geniec...wireless-keypad . My controller was wired vice wireless... 

 

3. I used a Fosters controller  It was like a v2 I think?  It had up to 2 inputs for a garage door and 2 inputs for sensors. https://www.fostersy...php?productid=7 I don't think it's changed at all. Use linear safety switches versus the magnets.  The magnets were always finicky and if you don't get a 'for sure' to the foster it'll go wonky.  The linear safety switches are super simple and reliable.  

 

The details are in my build thread (bone yard, there are two of them).

 

You can PM me if you need specifics, I've got pictures of everything too.

Thanks, Chris!

 

Can you please tell me the brand name and model number of the "linear safety switches" that you used?

 

Mike



#4 Raginar

Raginar

    Cosmos

  • *****
  • Posts: 9,882
  • Joined: 19 Oct 2010
  • Loc: Pensacola, FL

Posted 26 October 2021 - 08:59 AM

https://www.automati...stic/ap2r51x11 

 

Something like this.  The company I used doesn't make them anymore (they got bought out, china stuff).  If you type in safety limit switch on Ebay you'll find a bunch of them.  I like the ones with the 'arm' since it's adjustable.  Helps you find a good spot on your roof to have it trigger.


  • LoveChina61 likes this

#5 LoveChina61

LoveChina61

    Surveyor 1

  • *****
  • topic starter
  • Posts: 1,655
  • Joined: 19 Jun 2009

Posted 26 October 2021 - 06:48 PM

https://www.automati...stic/ap2r51x11 

 

Something like this.  The company I used doesn't make them anymore (they got bought out, china stuff).  If you type in safety limit switch on Ebay you'll find a bunch of them.  I like the ones with the 'arm' since it's adjustable.  Helps you find a good spot on your roof to have it trigger.

Thanks much, Raginar!

 

Mike


  • Raginar likes this


CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.


Recent Topics






Cloudy Nights LLC
Cloudy Nights Sponsor: Astronomics