•  

CNers have asked about a donation box for Cloudy Nights over the years, so here you go. Donation is not required by any means, so please enjoy your stay.

Photo

Difficulty in Focusing

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 malaylahiri

malaylahiri

Lift Off

• -----
  • topic starter

Posted 23 October 2021 - 01:27 AM

hi,

I am Malay from New Delhi. India, a newbie here.  I have recently purchased a 10 inch GSO DOB.  However, ever since its assembly, I find the focusing extremely difficult.  I have also collimated it using Astromania next generation laser collimator and the scope is perfectly aligned with the finderscope.  Still no luck.  I have tried the focusing with 30 mm GSO lens. What I am doing wrong?  I hope there is no problem with the focusser itself. Please advise.  

Malay 

• sevenofnine likes this

#2 DHEB

DHEB

Apollo

• Loc: Sweden

Posted 23 October 2021 - 01:31 AM

Malay, perhaps you need to use an extender, or perhaps you are using one that needs not to be used. Your scope probably includes at least one extender. Try different combinations that will change the length of the optical path. Good luck.
  • Bjorg63 and sevenofnine like this

#3 gitane71

gitane71

Viking 1

Posted 23 October 2021 - 06:10 AM

faster focal ratio scopes have a small range in which they focus.  It might help to use a Barlow, getting rough focus, and then moving  the eyepiece up and down in the barlow (so you wouldn't be using an ? f/4.7 but more like an f/9.4).  Also, has your air been stable?  turbulent air might make things more difficult.  If you are observing shortly after sunset and there is a lot of concrete or asphalt that needs to cool off, you might try later at night when the scope and landscape have cooled off more.  

#4 maroubra_boy

maroubra_boy

Surveyor 1

• -----
  • Loc: Sydney, Australia

Posted 23 October 2021 - 06:49 AM

Hello Malay,

Welcome to CN! :)